Thursday, December 8, 2011

Since Georges Méliès Is So Hot Right Now, Why Not Have Air Do An Entire Album Based On His Work?

Javi here. I'll admit, the title might be a bit misleading, but the French duo Air, of electronic music fame, will not be releasing a new album just because a certain recently released movie focuses so much on his work. According to NME, the French duo was commissioned to compose new music for a newly restored color print of the 1902 silent film, LE VOYAGE DANS LA LUNE, which is also the name of the album. This has been in the works for a while and it's just a cool coincidence that with the exposure of said movie; this project might just be getting more attention. Hit the jump for more info

Apparently, the print was discovered in 1993, and then subsequently restored to the point of being able to be shown to the public. After screening the restored movie at this year's Cannes with their new soundtrack, Air decided to base a whole album around the spirit of Georges Méliès' film making. This would include more organic instruments, arrangements and recording techniques, relying less on loops, samples and electronics. The album will feature vocals by one of my favorite female vocalists, Victoria Legrand from the band Beach House, and if you click the NME link above, you can hear the track 'Seven Stars' which features her on vocals. Here's the track-listing:
  1. 'Astronomic Club'
  2. 'Seven Stars'
  3. 'Retour Sur Terre'
  4. 'Parade'
  5. 'Moon Fever'
  6. 'Sonic Armada'
  7. 'Who Am I Know?'
  8. 'Décollage'
  9. 'Cosmic Trip'
  10. 'Homme Lune'
  11. 'Lava'
As a cool bonus, if you pre-order the album through iTunes or Amazon , you can get a digital copy or a DVD with the restored film as well. LE VOYAGE DE LA LUNES will be released on February 7th, 2012 by Aircheology.

No comments:

Post a Comment